LEITH or BONNINGTONS
1798 - 1853
Founded by Balenie & Kemp in 1798 then taken over by John Haig in 1804. After the lifting of prohibition in 1814 John Haig was one of only five distillers to register for the commencement of exports to England.
In 1835 Haig & Co installed a Coffey still for the production of grain spirit for their London gin business.
From 1804 - 1853 it was operated by a succession of companies within the Haig dynasty. Distilling closed in 1853. The site was considerably extended and its warehouses are still in existence today under the United Distillers Bonnington Road banner.
"Kennetpans, the birthplace of the Scottish Whisky Industry, the very Genesis of all things #Scotch, lies unloved and in ruins. We created modern Distilling, gave it to the World and this is how much Scotland cares about this unique and frankly incredible historical legacy. We don't. Not one bit. Its a disgrace."
Co-founder of the Whisky Ambassador Ltd